Board of Directors

The VocalEssence Board of Directors serve as ambassadors for the organization in the larger community. They also guide VocalEssence in all major policy decisions while ensuring the financial stability of VocalEssence.

Board Officers

Karl Speak, President
President, Brand Tool Box, Ltd.

Jacob Wolkowitz, Treasurer
Investment Manager, Accredited Investors, Inc.

Roma Calatayud-Stocks, Secretary
Novelist and Composer, Palladian Music, Inc.

Board of Directors

Steve Aggergaard (Ex-Officio Non-Voting)
Volunteer Chorus Representative, VocalEssence

Mary Ann Aufderheide (Ex-Officio Non-Voting)
Executive Director, VocalEssence

Julie Bader
Global Controller RD&E, Ecolab Inc.

Traci V. Bransford
Attorney, Stinson Leonard Street

Philip Brunelle (Ex-Officio Non-Voting)
Founder and Artistic Director, VocalEssence

Cassidy Burns
Principal and Client Relationship Manager at Riverbridge Partners

Margaret Chutich
Associate Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court

Ann Farrell
Marketing Consultant/Vocalist

Wayne Gisslen
Culinary Textbook Author

R.J. Heckman
Vice Chairman at Korn Ferry Hay Group

Robin Helgen (Ex-Officio Non-Voting)
Singer Representative, VocalEssence

Joseph Kalkman
HR Consultant

David L. Mona
Retired Chairman, Weber Shandwick Minneapolis

Fred Moore
Retired President and CEO, Fiserv Health, Inc.

David Myers
Music Faculty, University of Minnesota School of Music

Nancy F. Nelson, F.S.A.
Principal, Cirdan Health Systems and Consulting

James M. Odland
Vice President and Managing Counsel, Law & Compliance, Thrivent Financial

Don Shelby
Retired News Anchor & Reporter, WCCO-TV Minneapolis

Timothy Takach

Dorene Wernke
Community Volunteer

Honorary Directors

Dominick Argento
William Bolcom
Dave Brubeck*
Aaron Copland*
Håkan Hagegård
Louise Heffelfinger*
Eskil Hemberg*
Betty Hulings*
Sigrid Johnson
James Earl Jones
Garrison Keillor
Donald Mitchell*
Helmuth Rilling
John Rutter
Peter Schickele
Dr. André J. Thomas
Eric Whitacre

*In remembrance