Board of Directors

The VocalEssence Board of Directors serve as ambassadors for the organization in the larger community. They also guide VocalEssence in all major policy decisions while ensuring the financial stability of VocalEssence.

Board Officers

David L. Mona, President
Retired Chairman, Weber Shandwick Minneapolis 

Fred Moore, Vice-President
Retired, President and CEO, Fiserv Health, Inc. 

Jacob Wolkowitz, Treasurer (Ex-Officio Non-Voting)
Investment Manager, Accredited Investors, Inc.

Timothy Takach, Secretary

Board of Directors

Mary Ann Aufderheide (Ex-Officio Non-Voting)
Executive Director, VocalEssence

Traci V. Bransford
Partner, Stinson LLP

Philip Brunelle (Ex-Officio Non-Voting)
Founder and Artistic Director, VocalEssence

Cassidy Burns
Vice President of Private Wealth Management, Robert W. Baird & Co. Inc

Margaret Chutich
Associate Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court

Martha Driessen
Professional Photographer

Anders Eckman (Ex-Officio Non-Voting)
Singer Representative, VocalEssence

Ann Farrell
Marketing Consultant/Vocalist

Daniel Fernelius
Senior Development Officer, Let’s Encrypt

Wayne Gisslen
Culinary Textbook Author

Carolina Gustafson
World Affairs Events Manager, Global Minnesota

R.J. Heckman
Vice Chairman, Korn Ferry Hay Group

Joseph Kalkman
HR Consultant

Paul McDonough
Chief Financial Officer, Capital Management

David Myers
Music Faculty, University of Minnesota School of Music

Nancy Nelson
Principal, Cirdan Health Systems and Consulting

Richard Neuner
President, Neuner Consulting

Jim Odland
Vice President and Managing Counsel, Thrivent Financial

Joanne Reeck
Chief Inclusion Officer, Augsburg University

Don Shelby
Retired News Anchor & Reporter, WCCO-TV Minneapolis

Jennifer Vickerman (Ex-Officio Non-Voting)
Volunteer Chorus Representative, VocalEssence

Dorene Wernke
Community Volunteer

Lifetime Directors

Ann Barkelew
Ann Buran
Art Kaemmer
Nikki Lewis
Mike McCarthy

Honorary Directors

Dominick Argento*
William Bolcom
Dave Brubeck*
Aaron Copland*
Håkan Hagegård
Louise Heffelfinger*
Eskil Hemberg*
Betty Hulings*
Sigrid Johnson
James Earl Jones
Garrison Keillor
Donald Mitchell*
Helmuth Rilling
John Rutter
Peter Schickele
Dr. André J. Thomas
Eric Whitacre

*In remembrance