Creative Programming Award

The purpose for this award is to uphold high standards of excellence in repertoire selection, to acknowledge and reward creativity in performing choral performance, and to affirm the importance of quality secondary and undergraduate choral training throughout the State of Minnesota.

The Award for Creative Programming is presented annually in November by Philip Brunelle or a representative of VocalEssence to a non-professional choral organization in the state of Minnesota. Award selection will be made by a review committee determined by Philip Brunelle. The decisions of the review committee will be final and the committee reserves the right not to make an award.

The winner receives a framed certificate and a $500 cash prize. The award alternates between two categories. In even years, college and university/community choruses, may apply; and in odd years, middle/junior high school and high school chorus may apply.

Past Recipients
2017: Kyle Eastman, Northfield High School Concert Choir
2014: Christopher Aspaas
2013: Philip Brown, Hopkins High School
2011: André Heywood, St. John’s Boy’s Choir
2010: Jane Ramseyer Miller, One Voice Mixed Chorus
2009: Joshua Shank & Thomas Hassig, Prior Lake High School
2006: Michael Culloton, Rochester Choral Arts Ensemble
2004: Michael Tamte-Horan, St. Cloud State University
2003: Matthew Culloton, Hopkins High School
2002: Patricia Kazarow, Gustavus Adolphus College
2000: Thomas Paulson, Edina Chorale
1999: Al Hawkins, New Ulm High School
1997: Robert Sieving, St. Cloud Apollo High School
1996: David Mennicke, Concordia University

Application Information
For more information or to apply for the award, please see the ACDA-MN website.