Skyward My People Rose: Music of William Grant Still

Order from Gothic Records

William Grant Still’s music for chorus, orchestra and organ brings the blues into the concert hall, ragtime to the ballet stage and the Old World into a new era.

William Warfield, narrator; Hilda Harris, Yolanda Williams, soloists; VocalEssence Ensemble Singers and Chorus with orchestra; special guests Leigh Morris Chorale: Philip Brunelle, conductor.

“I found much pleasure in this music, from the profound, disturbing vocal works to joyous, light-hearted, toe-tapping dances.”

—American Record Guide

1 Wailing Woman

Yolanda Williams, soprano; VocalEssence Chorus with orchestra

2 Swanee River (Old Folks at Home)

VocalEssence Ensemble Singers

And They Lynched Him on a Tree

Hilda Harris, mezzo soprano; William Warfield, narrator; Leigh Morris Chorale; VocalEssence Ensemble Singers

3 We’ve swung him higher
4 Look dere
5 Oh, sorrow
6 He was her baby
7 They took away his freedom
8 They left him hanging
Miss Sally’s Party

A ballet for string orchestra

9 Introduction
10 The Square Dance
11 Tia’s Dance
12 Toby and Tip’s Dance
13 The Country Dance
14 Miss Sally’s Dance
15 Jim Slick’s Dance
16 The Cake Walk Contest
17 Reverie

Philip Brunelle, organ

18 Elegy

Philip Brunelle, organ